40 million Americans suffer from this disorder

self-medication

I’m sure we all have had a night or two of sleeplessness at some point, no big deal! What if you spend more nights than not lying awake until 2, 3 or 4 am? Unfortunately, you may have a severe case of insomnia!

According to the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, about 40 million people in the United States suffer from chronic long-term sleep disorders each year and an additional 20 million people experience occasional sleep problems.

Sleep disorder could lead to SUICIDE

People who suffer from this disorder tend to think about, and in some cases commit, suicide because they eventually lose hope of ever remedying the problem. The support, understanding and love from those around you is imperative to get through this amendable problem.

According to a study done on 423 veterans, 45.4 percent of those who had committed suicide had clinician documented sleep disturbance. This an alarming issue for everyone but more so for Veterans because of the experiences related to war.

I have personally suffered from insomnia for the better part of my adulthood but has become more pronounced since I came back from Afghanistan in 2013. Most nights I would feel exhausted, tired and achy by the time I would get to bed but no matter how ready to sleep my body was, I just couldn’t get my brain to shut down.

I wanted to write this blog for people to understand what sleep disorder is all about and to encourage those who suffer from it to seek PROFESSIONAL help. I want to put emphasis on “professional” because many people look to self-medicate, or worse practices, in order to aid this terrible disorder.

The first thing you must do is realize that there is a problem. Most people fail to pay attention to the symptoms of sleep disorder and end up spending years just “dealing with it”. Trust me, I know, I spent many years in denial myself. I spent many nights in distress and anguish knowing that no matter how hard I tried, how bad I wanted to, I just wasn’t going to get much sleep.

I tried almost everything most people could think of. I tried Nyquil, over the counter sleeping pills, teas, relaxation techniques, regressions and even consuming alcohol. I don’t recommend this last one to anyone! The problem with alcohol consumption is the fact that at the beginning a single beer may be sufficient, next thing you know, you’re chugging 3 beers to get the same effect of one. In some cases some people move on to hard liquor and end up having a drinking problems in addition to insomnia. Don’t try this at home folks!

sleep-disorders-1-638

The problem with insomnia is that you can be in a house full of people but you’re the only one awake. Even worse, if your roommate or partner is in the same room then you could cause them to limit their sleep because you are tossing and turning all through the night.

Educate yourself

According to healthcommunities.com, there are more than 70 different sleep disorders, which are generally classified into one of three categories:

  • lack of sleep (e.g., insomnia),
  • disturbed sleep (e.g., obstructive sleep apnea), and
  • excessive sleep (e.g., narcolepsy).

Just because natural medicines didn’t work for me doesn’t mean you shouldn’t try it. I am not a doctor, don’t know how to even apply a band aid really, but I do recommend trying natural options before you move on to prescription pills.

Try herbal teas, yoga, natural sleeping pills, a balanced diet, exercise and meditation. If the symptoms persist, consult with your doctor about non-habit creating drugs first before you start taking hardcore drugs. PLEASE GO SEE A DOCTOR FOR YOUR SLEEP DISORDER!

Health risks related to sleep disorder

WebMD talks about 10 to top things caused by sleep loss. In my opinion the most important risks to consider are:

  • heart disease
  • heart attack
  • heart failure
  • irregular heartbeat
  • high blood pressure
  • stroke
  • diabetes

Conclusion

Understand you may have a problem, get professional help, educate yourself and those around you and remember, you are not alone! I hope this gets to help those suffering from this awful disorder, there is help!

SLEEP LIKE A BABY

2355782_orig

Time to say adios!

Keep checking with us here at whogivesablogg.wordpress.com regularly.

Go forth and do great things!

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “40 million Americans suffer from this disorder

Add yours

  1. My husband suffers insomnia, but I researched about it and the result is that
    People with insomnia = smart people. In fact hi is very smart. Don’t get frustrated. Just relax and don’t overthink. Read, breath or you can do some prayers!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

